Share |
A 5k and Transformetrics

11-17-2014, 01:55 PM

HI all,
Last Friday (Nov 14th) I ran a 5K in the city I live in. I ran 19:18 (6:15 pace)winning my age group (55-59) and finishing 18th overall.

The thing is 80% of my workouts are strength training from what we do here. I run about 15-20 mpw with one hard run a week, about 3-4 days a week. I do not race very much but the thing is I felt great the whole way and passed quite a few the last mile. This is due to the strength I have gained over the years and the vest training I have been doing for a few months. My workouts are with the 20lb vest with push ups and pull ups plus ISOs, DSR, DVR , GUTS etc.

After I finished my wife kept telling me how big my arms looked. Now this is pretty cool since being an ectomorph for years.
The next day I had no soreness and resumed my workout on Sat. at a park and did 300 squat/lunges 300 push ups and some pull up holds for a 40 min workout.

The point is my strength powered me through and due to a lot of what we do here being strength endurance, it allows an older runner to run less and still race well.

I do know that doing this type of training has allowed me to continue to jump in a race and do well and beat most guys my age.
Another perk was watching my two 14 year old son run ahead of me finishing 6th and 10th respectably. I told them if they did not beat me they had extra chores. HAHA!! I was kidding of course.

Anyway I was pretty pleased how strong I felt and how fast I recovered.

If you run or race occasionally you can get by with minimal running as long as your doing the various workouts be promote here.

Monty

Share |

11-17-2014, 02:05 PM

Excellent! Congratulations Monty and thanks for the encouragement...
ChuckH

Share |

11-17-2014, 02:21 PM

In their seminal work entitled Training distance runners Peter Coe and David Costill commented that Decline in sprinting speed as a runners ages can be compensated for by strength training.