Share |
How do you get from crunch to Atlas situps?

01-28-2010, 09:41 AM

I am knee-deep in the G.U.T.S. program.
I am at the elite level on the squats. No surprise there, I have been doing them 20 minutes a day for a couple of years now.

But the Atlas situps....I am at a pathetic 0 reps.

Is it this last 35 lbs of tire I am wearing, or what?

Share |

Legacy Member

01-28-2010, 10:26 AM

Nah, I've still got a 15-20lbs spare tire I can do do the Atlas Sit-Up. I've been able to do both that and the full range leg raise for a long time. It's probably your hip flexors are weak and/or your hamstrings and quads are not in balance.

Can you do leg raises?

-Joe

Share |

01-28-2010, 10:47 AM

I also like to say that I can't do a one Atlas Sit Up. I think the Atlas Sit Up would be great to do but yes how does one work up to them? It would be nice to get an answer to that question. I can do Hanging leg raises, and superman wheel roll outs, and superman push ups, but not a one Atlas Sit Up. I would love to do them, but I think how does one get to that point? Also I think it would be nice for those of us who have trouble with the Atlas Sit Up to have an different but recommended sit up variation to use in GUTS. The Atlas Sit Up is the primary reason I avoid GUTS.

Anyway GUTS is a great routine; I would love to add it in my routine,but....

PEACE

HOPEFUL

Share |

Legacy Member

01-28-2010, 10:53 AM

Well hell... now that I find really interesting! Could it be a flexibility issue then? Crunches, hanging leg raises and rollouts require core strength rather than flexibility...

-Joe

Share |

01-28-2010, 11:56 AM

I can do leg raises and captain's chair like a champ.
The leg raise is used in The Five Tibetans and I have been doing them for a while, in spite of what my wife's preacher thinks of them. LOL

Share |

01-28-2010, 12:34 PM