Share |
Same Philosphy Different Approach

Author

04-22-2019, 12:56 PM

Hello Friends,

In so many ways Alois P Swoboda and George Jowett were totally in sync in terms of training philosophy.

The top quote is how Swoboda described Physiological Exercise or 'Swobodaism' in his own literature. Below it, you will read George Jowett's philosophy. You'll see that in terms of the objective to be accomplished, they were very much 'in sync'. The only real difference was that Jowett used weights while Swoboda did not think they were necessary.

Quote:
Swoboda Quote:
"When nineteen years of age, I was very weak and debilitated. The fact that my father died of consumption five years previous, and the warning of my friends that I would follow the same route, caused me to look toward exercise as a means of building up my health and strength. I began the study of anatomy for the location, functions, and relations of all the muscles. I studied physiology to find the physiological effect of exercise; why exercise caused development, and the effect of different modes of exercise. I soon found that the use of heavy weights was the speediest rout to development. But I also found that the use the weights checked the capillary circualtion, thereby increasing the pressure in the arteries, consequently placing an undue strain on the heart. Since, however, the use of weights caused a rapid development of the muscles and the willpower and at the same time overtaxed the heart, it occurred to me that if I could find a means by which the muscles could be offered the same resistance as by the use of weights (and still not use weights), that I could gain as much muscle, will power and vital force in as short a time, and not overtax the heart, which is unavoidable when weights are used.